Cranberry Applesauce Muffins For Diabetics

Posted on Updated on

Cranberry Applesauce Muffins
As I started on my muffin making journey, I went looking for old recipes that I grew up with.  The ones loaded with sugar and oil.  Gosh!  They really tasted good when I was a kid.  I started making them this time with an eye towards decreasing the fat.  I have to watch my cholesterol you know.  So all these recipes don’t have the fat content that we became used to.

I asked friends and family to taste test these recipes.   And guess what?  They thought the muffins tasted great!  I started getting requests for special types of muffins.  Some people I know wanted vegan muffins.  Others need to have gluten free.  I have friends who are diabetic or newly diabetic.  I remember when I first had to cut out the fat.  I became what my husband called the “food nazi”.  Life became dull.  Then I regained sanity and created a low fat vegetarian diet that we both love.

I decided to expand what I am doing with muffins to help expand what my friends can eat.  Food is such an important part of our life and is meant to be enjoyed.  So I went looking for recipes.  Here is my first one for diabetics.  My diabetic friends love it.  I have left the nutritional values on it for people to use.

Cranberry Applesauce MuffinsIngredients

    1-1/4 cups unsweetened applesauce
    2 tablespoons vegetable oil
    2 eggs, beaten or 1/2 cup of eggbeaters
    2 cups cake flour
    1/4 cup SPLENDA No Calorie Sweetener, Granulated(I used 7 packets)
    1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
    1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1 cup fresh or frozen cranberries, chopped
    A dash of nutmeg

Directions

Cranberry Applesauce Muffins
Right Out Of The Oven!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

Grease and flour a muffin pan, or use paper liners.

In a small bowl, mix together applesauce, oil, and eggs. In a large bowl, combine cake flour, SPLENDA Granulated Sweetener, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Make a well in the center, and pour in egg mixture. Stir until just moistened, and then fold in cranberries. Spoon batter into muffin cups, 2/3 full. Sprinkle nuts over the top of batter.
Bake in the preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool in pan for 2 minutes before removing.    Serves: 12

Nutritional Information (Per Serving)
Calories:                   150                              Calories from Fat:       40
Protein:                         3 g                           Sodium:                    270 mg
Cholesterol:                35 mg                        Fat:                               4 g
Saturated Fat:               0.5 g                       Dietary Fiber:                 1 g
Sugars:                          3 g                          Carbohydrates:            24 g

Cranberry Applesauce Muffins

Enjoy!

Marcey

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Applesauce Muffins For Diabetics

    sewloveable said:
    October 7, 2015 at 11:37 am

    These look great Marcey. How wonderful of you to make something delicious for those with dietary restrictions. Now they will see that they can still have some of the thing’s they have always enjoyed.

    ~Timeka
    http://sewloveable.com

    Like

      mkcasey80 responded:
      October 7, 2015 at 12:06 pm

      That is why I love this quote.

      We All Eat And It Would Be A Sad Waste Of Opportunity To Eat Badly~~ Anna Thomas

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment