An Assassin In My Garden

Posted on Updated on

Assassin Bug

Friend or Foe?

I had taken my camera out to my garden hoping to get a picture of the bees on my fennel blooms.  Instead, I found this fella.  I had never seen a bug like this before I moved to Texas.  My garden was teeming with them.  I looked them up and found that this was an Assassin bug.

Assassin bugs get their name from their predatory habits. Theses are beneficial bugs, because their voracious appetites for other bugs keeps pests under control.  In cotton fields, assassin bugs prey on a broad range of prey including flea hoppers,  lygus bugs, aphids, caterpillar eggs and larvae and boll weevils. They will also eat other  insects such as lady beetles and big-eyed bugs.

Living on a sandy island, we have a lot of fleas.  I think my Assassins help keep them under control.  They are beautiful and bad!

Marcey

Leave a Reply

