Memorial Day

Posted on

Arlingtongraves
From our trip to DC in April

Memorial Day was a much bigger holiday than it is now. We would have a parade. My parents would take us to the cemetery to care for the graves of our family members who served. Tell us stories about people buried there(I wished I had listened).

And we weren’t the only family doing this. There were cars lined up and down the little paths.  Other people would be out there at their family graves.  People would be swapping graves. 

The purpose of Memorial Day seems to have been forgotten. I just thought that I would do my part to celebrate our veterans, some who are my family. So to start out, “It’s Never Too Late To Thank A Vet.”

http://www.history.com/topics/holidays/history-of-veterans-day/videos/its-never-too-late-to-thank-a-vet

Marcey

Leave a Reply

