Fig, Tomato, & Kale Salad

Posted on

Figs & KaleI was never much for kale.  Then one day a few years ago when I was browsing at my neighborhood garden center, I saw that they had kale plants for sale.  A six pack for fifty cents!  Hmm..   I thought “I guess I am not the only person who isn’t a kale fan!”  I couldn’t resist though.  I bought two six packs of kale plants for $1.  I love deals that I get from the garden center.  And they looked like probably wouldn’t make it.   What the heck!  I planted them as soon as I got home.  A week later, the plants were still alive.  Two weeks later, they were flourishing.  I didn’t know what to do.  I thought about how I didn’t really like kale.  Then it dawned on me that I had only had kale once or twice when I growing up.  My mom wasn’t the best of cooks.  Maybe if I tried making it, kale wouldn’t be so bad.  I wasn’t going to let the kale go to waste, so I started searching for recipes with kale.  As I always say, “Google is your friend!”I

One of the first recipes I found was from Laura Theodore “The Jazzy Vegetarian”.  It’s a Fig, Tomato, & Kale Salad.  Wonderful!  I love the sweet with the taste of kale.  Lettuce makes the kale flavor less strong.  I have served it to friends who love this dish.  This recipe helped me start to appreciate kale!  I harvested the kale, along with the tomatoes from the garden.  Try it!  You just might learn to like kale too.  http://www.pbs.org/food/recipes/fig-kale-and-tomato-salad/

And if you need more reasons to make kale part of your diet, check this out! http://authoritynutrition.com/10-proven-benefits-of-kale/

Enjoy! Marcey

Leave a Reply

