My Answer To The Credit Crunch Munch! Poached Peaches!

Posted on Updated on

Poached Peaches
A unique & intense flavor

I was web surfing and just happened upon a really cool site.  The Food Blog Diary

The Food Blog Diary is the place to find up-to-date foodie challenges, giveaways and competitions.  Not only that, you can find great recipes to try.  Hook up with other bloggers of like mind.  You go on the site and find all kinds of challenges.  They let you know of events going on.  Cool!
The one challenge that really caught my eye was the Credit Crunch Munch.  I just loved that name.  And the idea is to blog about any money saving idea or recipe.  I have a lot of them. 

I wanted to make this a real challenge so I decided to come up with a recipe of things that I had at hand.  I looked around and realized that I have a lot of peaches had just picked!  I have a peach tree with some of the best peaches around.   I thought about doing a cobbler and started to get the peaches out of the refrigerator.  I notice that I had a number of wine bottles with a little bit of wine left in them.  I thought poached peaches.  Works for me.
There are plenty of recipes out there, but here is what I did:
3 cups(I used both red & white wine, worked well)
1 cup sugar
1 cinnamon stick
2 whole cloves
2 to 3 whole peppercorns
1 tsp lemon juice 4 medium peaches, halved and pitted
1 tsp of chopped candied ginger.
Directions Combine the wine, sugar, cinnamon stick, cloves, peppercorns, and lemon rind in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil, stir to dissolve the sugar, and reduce heat to a simmer. Bring the liquid to a boil and cook on high heat until it becomes a syrup. Add the peaches and poach the fruit, spooning the syrup over them occasionally, about 5 minutes.  Stir in the candied ginger .
Serve warm peaches and syrup over vanilla ice cream.  I love how the ice cream melts with the syrup.
 Marcey
This recipe is featured on
CCmGetAttachment.aspx-2
2 thoughts on “My Answer To The Credit Crunch Munch! Poached Peaches!

    Camilla Hawkins said:
    May 31, 2015 at 8:34 am

    This sounds heavenly and love the hot syrup melting the ice cream:-) Than you for entering #CreditCrunchMunch:-)

    Like

    Helen @Fuss Free Flavours said:
    June 17, 2015 at 5:19 am

    Great use of leftover wine! I love the mix of hot sauce and ice cream. Thanks for joining Credit Crunch Munch

    Like

Leave a Reply

