A Delicious Idea For Sunday Brunch ~ French Toast!

Posted on Updated on

French Toast

After submitting to the Credit Crunch Munch I started thinking about my mom & dad raising 4 kids.  My parents were by no means comfortably off.   My three brothers ate like they had a hole in their leg.  Nothing seemed to fill them up.  I remember that they could go through a gallon of milk in one day.  My oldest brother would chug down the milk.  So my very frugal mom(Depression kid) had to find a way to make a lot more out of what we had. She focused saving money with food.    One of the tricks that she use to do was to serve breakfast for dinner.  It was mainly things like scrambled eggs and toast.  Or pancakes.  Our big favorite was French Toast! 

Today, I still love French Toast.  It’s perfect for Sunday Brunch.  You never know who will show up and I always have eggs and bread in the house.  So, I decided to make it today!  Here is the French Toast recipe I have been making since I was a kid.

1 large egg

1/3 cup of milk

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 cinnamon

A couple of pinches of sugar

6 slices of somewhat stale bread(I love French bread for this)

Mix the egg, milk, vanilla, cinnamon, and sugar together.  Dip the bread slice in the mixture.  I cook the bread on a hot griddle that I basted with butter. 

I serve the French toast with maple syrup, honey, or cinnamon sugar.  Add a side of soy bacon and orange juice.  You have a great breakfast there!

Marcey

Leave a Reply

