3 Great Cold Soups For Hot Weather!

Posted on Updated on

I had been thinking about what to serve for dinner today.  My husband and I had a late lunch at a restaurant.  It’s hot today! It got up to 88 degrees today.  I have been running around doing errands for most of the day, so I don’t really want to do a lot of work.  I want something that is easy and I can get to the table fast. After doing some web surfing, I found 3 recipes.  They all look appetizing, easy, and fast.  My problem is deciding which one!  A couple of them I have actually had at restaurants.  I have never made them before.

Just In Time For The Summer Gazpacho!

gazpacho

This reminds me of a tomato soup I use to make.  You use bread to give it a thickness you don’t get with other gazpacho recipes.  They say that this scales well for parties and suggest bringing it in a punch bowl. Sweet! https://www.yahoo.com/food/how-to-make-gazpacho-just-in-time-for-summer-120030062171.html

 

Low Fat Vichyoisse or Potato Leek Soup as My Dad Would Say!

 

vichyssoise

Did you know that Vichyoisse is an American soup?  And originally it was made to be cold.  That was in the pre air conditioning days.  Yes, I grew up without air conditioning.  This recipe has had the fat cut, so feel free to indulge! http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes//

 

 

Spinach and Avocado Soup

spinach-avocado-soup-

i never had this soup until recently.  My friends took me out to the South Shore Harbor Grill in League City.  They swore that I would love this soup.  They were right.  It was light and creamy with the buttery taste of avocado.  And the Tabasco sauce gave it one heck of a kick.  Try it!  You will love it!  Thanks Tina, Mary, & Judy! http://www.health.com/health/recipe/0,,50400000129270,00.html I hope you try one of these recipes.  I will let you know one I make.  I need to get some pics before I do! Marcey

One thought on “3 Great Cold Soups For Hot Weather!

    GP Cox said:
    June 11, 2015 at 10:30 am

    3 Cukes, 1 onion, 3T. butter,3T. flour, 2 1/2 C. chicken broth, 1t. dill weed, 2t. lemon juice, 2C. cream, pepper to taste.
    peel, split & remove seeds, add to minced onion and saute till soft, add flour, put thru food processor with other ingredients.
    Viola!!
    Next – you’ll have to try Potato/Leek – um-um-good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

