A Father’s Day Omelet

Posted on Updated on

MyDad

I have been really lucky to have two men in my life who were great fathers.  One was my dad.  My brother recently sent me some old photos.  I saw this one and realized that this showed what my dad was all about.  He was a kind and gentle.  He felt like he hit the jackpot when he met my mom and the fell in love and got married.   He thought that my mom was the most beautiful and intelligent woman he had ever met.

And he loved us kids.  He was a factory worker, but felt that he was a big success.  He was able to work and support his family.  Got to spend time with us.  We all knew that my dad loved us. 

He was really proud of us.  All us kids did better than my parents.  What more could he ask for?

And the second man is my Jim.  He is so much like my dad.  Kind and gentle.  Humble.  He would give you the shirt off his Jim&Carlitosback.  He loves our nieces and nephews.  And he was a wonderful dad to our son.  So patient.  And a great husband.    I really lucked out.  Here is a photo of him with Carlitos.  Jim got the bike tryke and Carlitos loved his choo choo train.  And my kid was fast with it.  He was pretty hard to keep up with.  No wonder I stayed so thin!  LOL!

Here is my recipe for a mushroom & cheese omelet.  I generally use Swiss cheese.  Jim prefers Cheddar Cheese.  Sharp!  It’s his day and he gets what he wants.

Ingredients

1 large clove of garlic, minced

1/2 onion sliced

4 ounces portabello mushrooms, thinly sliced.

4 eggs, beaten

2 ounces cheddar cheese, grated

salt and pepper if desired.

Olive oil

Directions

For Filling:  Heat some olive oil in a frying  pan.  Saute garlic for 30 seconds.  Throw in the sliced onion.  cook until soft and  translucent.  About 3 to 5 minutes.  Add mushrooms and cook until brown.  Stir in salt and pepper to taste.  Remove from heat.

Heat a clean, non-stick frying pan with oil.  Add the beaten eggs.  Cook until set.  Add filling to half of the eggs.  Top with grated cheese.  Fold over the half of the eggs that don’t have the filling on.  Cover the pan for a couple of minutes or until the cheese melts.  Serve on a warm plate with toast.

Note:  Never salt eggs until you have cooked them.  The salt causes the eggs to toughen up.  You want the eggs to be soft and fluffy!

Enjoy!

Marcey

One thought on “A Father’s Day Omelet

Leave a Reply

