-

Oil Based Pie Crust~~The Best Ever!

Posted on Updated on

Oil Pie Crust
Ready For The Oven!

I love pies.  Freshly baked pies from my oven.  It’s sad that more people don’t bake their own pies.  A big part of the problem is that people tend to think that pie crusts are too difficult to make.  Or they have had bad results.  It’s not their fault.  They are just using the wrong recipe!

 
I have been using the Betty Crocker Oil Pie Crust since I was a kid.  Perfect results every time.  My crust is so light and flaky.  And with an oil pie crust, you are not getting all the trans fats that are in other crusts.  They have found that its trans fats that cause the most problems with your health.  Are you ready to try?

Makes 1 pie crust

Ingredients

1 cup, plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose or unbleached flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup vegetable oil(preferably canola)

2 -3 tablespoons cold water

Directions

1. In a mixing bowl, mix flour and salt with a fork. Add oil. Continue mixing until it forms large lumps, but doesn’t stick all together.

2. Sprinkle cold water over the flour mixture; continue mixing with a fork to form a single mass.

3. Gather into a ball and cover with plastic wrap  while preparing your work surface. If you are baking the shell, preheat oven to 475 degrees.

4. Place a large piece of wax paper on a dampened counter top. Flatten the ball and place in middle of wax paper. Cover with a second piece of wax paper.

5. Roll out dough from the center to the edges to form a 12-inch circle. Pull off the top paper and carefully position the dough in an 8- or 9-inch glass pie dish, paper-side up. Carefully peel off the paper. Gently fit the pastry into the pan, making sure it is draped into the bottom and up the sides. Trim the edges, leaving a 3/4-inch overhang. Fold edges under and flute or pinch to form a decorative border.

6. To bake the pie shell, prick all over sides and bottom of the crust with a fork. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes until very light brown. If the crust puffs up, use a toothpick to prick the puffy part while hot. Gently press the crust back down into the pan.

 
Note:  Here are the ingredients for a 2 crust pie:
 

1 3/4 cup, all-purpose or unbleached flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup vegetable oil(preferably canola)

3-4 tablespoons cold water

 
Key Lime Mini pie
Key Lime Pie(mini)

I don’t do  9 inch pies.  I do mini pies.  I had been shopping in our Kitchen Collection outlet store and came across a set of 6 3 inch pie pans.  I use one pie pan to make a mini pie, which is enough for one dessert for my husband and I.  Perfect!  That way we are not eating the pie forever.  And we don’t end up throwing anything away.

 
Doing mini pies are great for another reason.  We had guests over for dinner this weekend.  I made one key lime pie for my husband and I and one apple for our friends(they don’t care for key lime).  It was just as easy as doing one big pie and everyone is happy!
 
Enjoy!
 
Marcey
5 thoughts on “Oil Based Pie Crust~~The Best Ever!

    DeniseBalog said:
    June 30, 2015 at 12:55 am

    OK Marcy, now I have got to try this one! I am bread baker; pie crust…not so much! Going to give the “mini’s” a try:) Son loves apple, husband, cherry:) me…key lime pie!! thanks for sharing:) blessings, denise

    Liked by 1 person

      mkcasey80 responded:
      June 30, 2015 at 2:39 am

      Too funny. I haven’t run into too many people who like Key lime. I really do like the mini pies. You don’t get bored with them. Loved your photo by the way! Marcey

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog

Jennifer Balcombe - Photography

Bubs' Kitchen

It's all about food and fun.

wingingitbygrace

Sometimes I feel like I am just WINGING IT, but then I remember... I can do this, by GRACE.

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

The Angry Staff Officer

Peddling history, alcohol, defense, and sometimes all three at once

