An Unbelievable Kind of Pie******* Buttermilk!

Posted on Updated on

Buttermilk Pie
An Incredible Taste

I never thought that Buttermilk pie would be something that I want to eat, much less make! This Fourth of July, we had some last minutes guest coming and I realized that I hadn’t thought of dessert. It’s not something that we eat very often. It’s what you have for guests. I looked around and thought “what can I make?” I knew that I could make a Chess pie. I make a chocolate one, which is soo… good. The problem was that I couldn’t find my recipe. So as they say, “Google is your friend” and I went looking.

I couldn’t find a Chess pie recipe that I liked. None made with chocolate. And way too many ingredients for the time I had to put something together. While I was searching though, mentions were made about Buttermilk pie. How it was

Buttermilk Pie
Fresh from the oven

similar to Chess Pie. I looked at some recipes and they were much more promising. Far fewer ingredients. Easier to put together! I was not too sure what buttermilk would do to a pie. I thought what the heck and tried it.

All I can say is WOW! This pie was beautiful. It was creamy and custardy. The buttermilk gave it a tangy flavor that was mellowed out by the sugar. Our friends said that it was the best pie that they had ever had! I hope you try this!

Buttermilk Pie

Ingredients

1⁄2 cup butter or 1⁄2 cup margarine, melted
1 1⁄2 cups sugar
3 tablespoons flour
3 eggs, beaten
1 pinch salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup buttermilk
1 deep dish pie shell (either your own recipe or store bought) See note.

Directions

Preheat oven to 400°F.
Beat the butter and sugar together until light.
Add the eggs and beat; then beat in vanilla.
Sift the dry ingredients together and add to the batter alternatively with the buttermilk; beat until smooth.
Pour into a deep dish pie shell and bake at 400F for 10 minutes, reduce heat to 350F and bake for 50-60 additional minutes.
Pie should turn a nice golden brown and a knife inserted should come out clean.
I think it is absolutely best when it is just still warm.

Buttermilk Pie

Note: Here is the link to Oil Pie Crust. It’s easy and never fails me!

https://marceystable.wordpress.com/2015/06/29/oil-based-pie-crustthe-best-ever/

Here is the original recipe:

http://www.food.com/recipe/buttermilk-pie-56?photo=207692

4 thoughts on “An Unbelievable Kind of Pie******* Buttermilk!

    Serena @ foodfulife said:
    July 6, 2015 at 11:03 pm

    Yumm…!!!!!

    Like

      mkcasey80 responded:
      July 6, 2015 at 11:12 pm

      Have had it before? Until I found that recipe, I never would have thought about that as a pie.

      Like

Leave a Reply

