Make Your Own Soyrizo!

Posted on Updated on

DSC01537I have been meaning to make Soyrizo for awhile.  Where I live it’s really hard to find a store to buy it.  We don’t have a Trader Joe’s.  The nearest Whole Foods is about a one and a half hour drive.  Kroger use to carry Soyrizo sausages.  I guess my husband and I were the only people buying them.  There are some draw backs to living on an Island paradise!  This is one of them.

I have come up with my own solution. 

About every 3 months I make a batch of Soyrizo crumbles and then freeze them in batches of 1/4 to 1/2 cups.  I like to use the Soyrizo in Paella.  I make Soyrizo breakfast burritos on Sundays(so much better than the restaurant).  It’s great for taco salads too!

I had all the ingredients to do it, but couldn’t find time.  Then I saw Rachel’s Chorizo Mac & Cheese at emergingadulteats.  I just had to make the recipe, but in my own vegetarian way.  It’s a great recipe.  I put the link for you to check it out.

http://emergingadulteats.com/2015/07/01/chorizo-mac-cheese/comment-page-1/#comment-1742

So, time to make my soyrizo!

Ingredients

12 ounces soy crumbles
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
2 tsp smoked paprika(this makes a big difference)
1 tsp crushed red pepper(more or less if you like)
1 tsp coriander, crushed
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper

Soyrizo Ingredients

I have played with this recipe over the years.  The seasonings come from Emeril’s Chorizo recipe.   When I first started making this, I saw that most people were making their own crumbles.  Or they used Textured Vegetable Protein from a box. Way too much work.  You can get frozen soy crumbles from Boca or Morning Star.  Yves and Lightlife are packaged and sold in the produce department of major grocery stores like Kroger or Randall’s here.

Packaged Soy Crumbles

They look just like cooked ground round.

Soy Crumbles

I use all powdered and packaged ingredients, so you don’t have to cook anything.  Just put in  the bowl and mix.  

Soyrizo Ready To Mix

Voila!  Soyrizo!

DSC01537

Enjoy!

Marcey

3 thoughts on “Make Your Own Soyrizo!

    Rachel said:
    July 9, 2015 at 1:55 am

    I’m so impressed! It looks delicious!! Thank you, thank you for trying the recipe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      mkcasey80 responded:
      July 9, 2015 at 1:58 am

      It’s a great recipe. Though, my thought eating it was not to smash it in my face, but to get every bite in my mouth. LOL. My husband says that he want to eat it again. He’s a picky eater. Good job!

      Like

Leave a Reply

