Bonne Fete Nationale! 8 Things You Should Know About Bastille Day!

Posted on

Happy Bastille DayWe spent some time as a family in Paris in the 1980’s  We were there in July 1989 and was able to see how the French celebrated Bastille Day(basically their July 4th.  There were parades.  Lots of great fireworks.  We were in a part of Paris, where everything was happening.  Most of it, we could see from our balcony.  My son loved the noise and the people and the business of it.  I am glad that we were able to experience all that.  I have found a number of lists for Bastille Day.  Everything from what you should know about it.  What to eat. and the Frenchest of films.  I hope you enjoy! 

8 Things You Should Know About Bastille Day!

First off, Bastille Day is celebrated annually on July 14th to commemorate the historical Storming of the Bastille.

http://www.msnbc.com/msnbc/8-things-know-about-bastille-day

8 Reasons To Teach Your Kids To Speak French

The most important thing is that English is based mostly on German and French words.  That’s why it wasn’t that difficult for me to learn to read it.  Though Spanish wasn’t all that difficult either.  Not if you have a background with high school Latin!

http://www.businessinsider.com/speak-french-2015-7

If you are a vegan, here are 7 dishes in which to celebrate Bastille Day!

It’s really not that hard to be a vegan there.  I found a cookbook called “The French Bistro” and a lot of the recipes are vegan.  They are great too!  The french love their cheese.  As well as the cream sauces.  The Mushroom Bourguignon and Soup au Pisto both look so good! 

http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-20652/7-vegan-french-recipes-to-celebrate-bastille-day-mais-oui.html?utm_source=mbg&utm_medium=email&utm_content=daily&utm_campaign=150714-the-secret-to-aging-like-a-french-woman

Thirteen of the Frenchest Films

I never got to see any of these films when we were in France.  Believe it or not, at one time I could read and understand french.  I only spoke it when we were with friends though.  They never  laughed at me.  My husband at that time was fluent.  The french appreciate if you try.

http://www.vogue.com/13283147/best-bastille-day-movies-french-films/

Enjoy!

Marcey

5 thoughts on “Bonne Fete Nationale! 8 Things You Should Know About Bastille Day!

    DeniseBalog said:
    July 15, 2015 at 12:51 am

    I love reading and learning more about you, Marcey, my friend:) Yes, I too found, when in Israel this last trip, they too appreciated when you tried to speak their language:) au revoir:) d

    Liked by 1 person

      mkcasey80 responded:
      July 15, 2015 at 1:53 am

      You have been to Israel? I want to visit there one day. So much history. And I have know such wonderful people from there.

      Liked by 1 person

        DeniseBalog said:
        July 15, 2015 at 2:11 am

        Yes, twice. The brides of Jaffa is the very first thing I saw once arriving after 12 plus hour flight. As I lay my head on my pillow I asked “why out of all to see, why brides?” Song of Solomon was His answer:) That was February 2011 and then He opened the door again in March 2014:) I desire to go again… Once there… Never the same again:) Thanks for asking:) d

        Like

        mkcasey80 responded:
        July 15, 2015 at 9:51 pm

        I do want to go there one day

        Liked by 1 person

    mkcasey80 responded:
    July 14, 2016 at 7:56 am

    Reblogged this on Marcey's Table and commented:

    Happy Bastille Day!

    I wrote this for last year and thought I would share it again.

    Enjoy!
    Marcey

    Like

Leave a Reply

