Garden Tomato Basil Salad

Posted on Updated on

I still have a ton of basil, so my eyes perked up when I saw this tomato basil salad.  This looks like a great way to use my basil.  I wish that I had tomatoes from the garden to go with it!  Right now, it’s too hot and dry for much of anything to grow in Texas.

And here is a use for basil you probably didn’t know about: If you are working outside and get bitten or stung by an insect chewing up a basil leaf and applying to the bite will help relieve the pain and draw out the venom.

From The Seasoned Heart

Garden Tomato Basil Salad.

Enjoy!

Marcey

5 thoughts on “Garden Tomato Basil Salad

    The Seasoned Heart said:
    August 5, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    Thanks for the link!! I never knew about basil for insect bites. Do you think that might work for mosquito bites? I’ve heard of doing that with mint (of which I have tons growing). Great tip 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      mkcasey80 responded:
      August 6, 2015 at 7:09 pm

      I checked out mosquito bites and guess what? Basil relieves the itching. Thanks Marcey

      Liked by 1 person

        The Seasoned Heart said:
        August 7, 2015 at 11:57 am

        Yay! I’ll definitely have to try that. I’ve got so many skeeter bites and lots of basil 🙂

        Like

    Howto$tuffYourPig said:
    August 5, 2015 at 10:17 pm

    Love all of these ingredients! We have a farm around the corner from us that grows fresh tomatoes. Can’t wait to try this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

