How To Make A Better Omelet!

Posted on

A Perfect Omelet

I don’t know if you have guessed yet, but I a really, really like omelets!  When we were kids, my family didn’t have a lot of money.  My parents had to stretch a dollar a long way.  Fortunately, food was a lot cheaper back then.  The problem was that there were 6 in my family.  And my brothers all seemed to have an empty leg.  One way to get around this was to serve what you would think of as a breakfast meal for dinner.  Eggs were cheap.  My dad grew a lot of our vegetables.  Omelets were eggs, whatever veggies were available, and a little cheese. 

The best thing about having omelets was my Dad making them.  He was a great cook.  He worked a lot, so he didn’t have a lot of time to cook.  When my Dad cooked, it was a real treat!  He would let us help him.  He would also tell us stories while we were getting a meal together.  Well!  Omelets were one of my Dad’s dishes.  So when I make it, I think of him.

That is why I had been so upset with how my omelets were turning out lately.    They were lack luster.  Uninspired.  Worse yet, I couldn’t get them out of the pan without them falling apart.   The omelet would stick to my nonstick pan!  Well Jim, my super smart husband, figured out why.  I came home one day, and he had bought me a new pan!  I had been using my old pans to cook everything in them.  Residual from that food built up.  You can’t get it totally out.  So the food sticks!

Jim got me cookware by Ecolutions.   It is pretty good.  They start out their description as

Our passion for cooking and concern for the planet has inspired the creation of Ecolution Cookware – a full range of eco-friendly cookware

Right now, I feel that we need to feel we need to start taking action to help our environment.  Go and check out their website:

New Sautee Pan

http://www.ecolutionhome.com/

Now are you ready to see how I make my Dad’s omelet?

First off.  Go to the refrigerator and see what kind of veggies you have for the filling.  The day I made this, I had red and yellow peppers.  There was some leaf spinach that needed to be used.  I heated up some olive oil.  I hoped you stocked up on it.  With Greece having so many problems, they are thinking that price is going to zoom on up. 

I add some minced garlic to the olive oil and sauteed for about 30 second.  Then I chopped the red and yellow pepper, some onions too.  I added to the pan and sauteed for about 5 minutes.  Chop the spinach add to the pan.  Cook for another 2 minutes.  You can use any type of veggie you like.  I’ve done combinations of corn and peppers.  Broccoli and onions.  And of course mushrooms which go with anything.  Of course, some people just cheese.  This is what my filling looked like.

Omelet Filling

I got my beautiful new pan and heated until it was hot enough to cause water to sizzle.

Omelet Pan

For the egg base, I use two eggs for each person.  I use eggbeaters(cholesterol), so it is already well mixed.  With whole eggs you need to beat them.  Some people put milk in.  Don’t!  My Dad said that milk makes eggs runny.  He was right.  If you need to add something, use water.  Also, my Dad said never add salt.  It will toughen the eggs.  Make them rubbery.  Once your pan is heated, add the eggs.

Eggs Cooking

Cook until the egg is set.  Then you can put on the filling on one half the omelet.  Top with cheese.  I know most people use cheddar.  I love Swiss.  It just has a creamier better taste for me.

Omelet Filling

Fold the other half of the omelet over the filling.  Cook for a couple of minutes until the cheese melts.  Now watch how lovely the omelet slides out of the pan!

Omelet Sliding Out of Pan

Omelet Sliding Out of Pan

Voila!  Here is my better omelet.  So Good!

My Better Omelet

Enjoy!

Marcey

4 thoughts on “How To Make A Better Omelet!

    Howto$tuffYourPig said:
    August 5, 2015 at 11:06 pm

    Omelets are a great for dinner! Will have to try this!

    Liked by 2 people

    DeniseBalog said:
    August 6, 2015 at 1:31 am

    Excellent! Two tips.. Stock up on olive oil..check. And no milk in the eggs! We do “breakfast” for dinner now and then too! Will try “Dad’s” recipe:) Thanks Marcey:) d

    Liked by 1 person

    jncthedc said:
    August 12, 2015 at 4:48 am

    I eat omelettes every day. I use 5 egg whites. I microwave 3-4 cups of mixed vegetables. I leave the omelette round on a dinner plate and add plain greek yogurt, a little ketchup and hot sauce. I mix it all together and spread it on the egg white omelette like pizza sauce on pizza dough. I add hemp seeds to the yogurt mix and then add all the veggies on top. It’s healthy, low calorie and really full of flavor. To avoid sticking to the pan, I use a little coconut oil.

    I’ll still bet yours tastes better!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

