Don’t Cry Over Sour Milk! Make Bread Instead!!!

Posted on Updated on

Sour Milk BreadI went to make oatmeal for breakfast, and found that my milk had soured over night.  Eeek!  I really hate that!   I didn’ t have a lot left.  Only about a cup.  I being the ‘frugal’ person I am, hate to throw anything out.  So I decided not to cry over sour milk.  I dug out my mom’s recipe book!  There was the recipe for sour milk bread. 

Growing up, we didn’t have a lot of sour milk.  When you have four growing kids, milk goes fast.  During the summer though, you would occasionally have a chance to cook with sour milk.  As kids, we would forget to put the milk back in the refrigerator.  My mom had recipes for Sour Milk Bread.  Chocolate cake.  She had a brunch coffee cake that was so yummy.  She made it for the people who came to our house before my wedding. 

I know that people think of sour milk as something you throw out.  Stop!  You need to realize that sour milk is just like buttermilk.  The bread I made is so good.  Its taste and texture is amazing.  It makes a great sandwich bread!  My husband loves if for grilled cheese sandwiches.   Best yet?  You save money!

Sour Milk Bread in the Bread Machine

Ingredients

1 ⅛ cups sour milk
3 cups bread flour
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons sugar
1 ½ teaspoons yeast

Directions

Follow the instructions that came with your bread machine as to  which ingredients to put in the bread machine first. Mine has you putting liquids in first. 

I use the basic bread cycle for this recipe.  

I set my timer for 30 minutes(my machine has a preheat cycle)  to check on the dough after it’s been kneading for about 5 minutes.    It should be a smooth, round ball.  You want the dough to be slightly tacky.  If it’s too dry, you will have problems with the rise.  Yeast needs that liquid!   If it’s too dry add liquid a tablespoon at a time until it gets tacky.  If it looks too wet,  add flour a tablespoon at a time.  I have never had this problem.

Sour Milk Bread machine

Note:  Note that this bread doesn’t have any oil.  You get the fat from the milk

Also, I like to take the paddles out about 2 hours after I start the bread.  It makes it better for baking.  I do oil the spindle that paddles had been on.  This allows the bread to slide out easier.

Enjoy!

Marcey♥

Leave a Reply

