7 More Uses For That Sour Milk You Have!

Posted on Updated on

Last week, I did a post on what I did with my sour milk.  I made Sour Milk Bread!  I had a pretty good response from that.  I started thinking about how lucky I was, that I only had about a cup of milk go sour.  What happens if you have a whole quart go sour?    You could make a loaf of bread with a cup of sour milk.  What do you do with the rest?  Throw it out?  Well!  I hate waste, so I went looking for some more ideas.  Here is what I found:

First off, please make a note of this information I got from the WikiHow:

Use only milk that has soured under refrigeration or forced by the addition of vinegar or lemon juice. If milk has soured sitting in the sun or near heat, discard it, as that is spoiled milk, not sour milk, and could harbor harmful bacteria.

http://www.wikihow.com/Use-Sour-Milk

Here are some uses for sour milk I never knew about! 

sour milk beauty

Beauty. Sour milk is a common ingredient in facial masks. It’s great for the skin making it smoother and giving it a more even, consistent color. Place sour milk all over the face, let sit, then rinse off with milk (strange, I know), followed by a final rinsing of water.

Pets. Use sour milk for pet food — make dog or cat biscuits or feed it to hens once it’s Sour milk kittycurdled (you can sit it outside in the sun to speed up this process).

Home and garden. Pour it around plants to keep deer away, put it at the base of rosebushes to help them grow or even pour sour milk over silver and let sit overnight to make it shine.

New Sour Milk Recipes

Cottage Cheese

Sour Milk Cottage Cheese

I found this recipe for Cottage Cheese at The self sufficient Home acre.  I never knew you could use sour milk for this.  I looked at the recipe and it looks pretty easy.   I love cottage cheese, but Jim forgets to pick it up.  I might just try this!  Now how to get sour milk?  Hmm.

http://www.theselfsufficienthomeacre.com/2013/02/cottage-cheese-made-from-sour-milk.html

Sour Milk Chocolate Cake

Sour Milk Cake

I actually remembered my mom’s Chocolate Cake recipe she would use if milk happened.  With my 3 milk loving brothers that didn’t happen too often!  I got this out of her recipe notebook.  Sorry about the photo.  I couldn’t make the cake this week!

Ingredients

1 cup water
4 tablespoons cocoa
1 cup butter
2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
2 eggs, beaten
1⁄2 cup milk, mix with
1 tablespoon vinegar, to make sour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

Mix water, 2 cubes butter and 4 T cocoa in a saucepan. Bring to a boil and remove from heat. Set aside.

Mix flour, sugar, eggs, sour milk, baking soda, and vanilla together.

Add ingredients from saucepan.  Mix well.

Pour into 9×13 greased pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  Let cool and frost with your favorite icing.  I like butter cream with coconut sprinkled on it.

Sour Milk Biscuits

Sour Milk Biscuits
Two freshly baked light and flaky buttermilk biscuits

http://www.cooks.com/recipe/rd2od24u/sour-milk-biscuits.html

Sour Milk Waffles

sour-milk-waffle

http://www.grouprecipes.com/4296/sour-milk-waffles.html

Remember, don’t cry over sour milk, just get baking!

Enjoy!   

Marcey

Leave a Reply

