4 Vegetarian Ideas For Your Labor Day Barbecue!

Posted on Updated on

Labor-day-2015

 

I am in the process of planning out what I am going to do this Labor Day weekend!

 

Barbecue in the summer is a tradition everywhere, especially, in Texas. Hot dogs and burgers. Sausages, and the ever present beef brisket are the staples of our barbecues. With Labor Day, you are going to see people firing up their barbies to get ready for family and friends. Most times, as a vegetarian, there’s not going to be much for you there. Unless you have really cool friends(like me), or you are with a lot of other vegetarians.

 

I just want to give you some ideas of things you can take with you to throw on the grill too. These are all products you can get at your local supermarket. They are not outrageously expensive, and they taste good! I make a lot of things from scratch that I bring to these events, but even I can run out of time.

 

Veggie burger

 

Lets start with Burgers. You can grill or broil them. We have been eating them since becoming vegetarian. My husband loves them. They are not greasy tasting. It’s hard to tell the difference between them and the ready made burgers. I have friends who are not vegetarians, who prefer the veggie burgers.

 

BOCA-BURGER_large

 

We love Boca burgers. They come six to a box. Veggie burgers can dry out with overcooking(less fat). However my husband found a solution for that. Baste the burgers with barbecue sauce before grilling.

 

Jims hot dog

 

My husband and I are from Chicago, which is a real ‘hot dog’ town. You got them at ball parks. There are hot dog franchises throughout Chicago. I remember the corner hot dog carts.

 

Veggie Dog

 

We have tried a lot of hot dog brands. Our favorite is Yves Veggie Dogs. You can broil, grill, or boil them. Don’t overcook the dogs. Just 3 minutes. And my husband says to steam your buns. What you want for fixins’ is up to you!

 

<Tofurky Italian Sausagep> 

And in my family, my dad always had sausages on the grill. It could be Italian or Kielbasa(Polish). Dad always basted them with barbecue sauce. He would serve them with lots of mustard, onions, & peppers.

 

Italian sausage

 

My husband and I really like Tofurkey sausages. They have Kielbasa and Choriz. Their Italian is a killer!

 

Quorn Kebabs

 

If you want something a little bit more elegant, try making Quorn Kebabs

 

Quorn Cutlets

 

Quorn is incredible! Quorn is a major meat substitute. Quorn is intended to replicate the taste and texture of meat. Believe it or not, more meat eaters than vegetarians are now eating Quorn. It has the approval of the Vegetarian Society. We have using it for years, primarily in piccata. It’s perfect.

 

Some Kebab recipes using Quorn.

 

Tomorrow, I am going to post my barbecued riblets for vegetarians!

 

Enjoy!

 

Marcey

5 thoughts on “4 Vegetarian Ideas For Your Labor Day Barbecue!

    Lynz Real Cooking said:
    September 3, 2015 at 12:26 am

    Nice ideas!!

    Liked by 2 people

    purpleslobinrecovery said:
    September 3, 2015 at 1:27 am

    I’ve eaten Boca burgers, not bad at all. But the tofurkey?? NOt gonna lie, I don’t plan for that to ever go past my lips.

    Like

      mkcasey80 responded:
      September 3, 2015 at 2:41 am

      They’re pretty good. I do a seitan Italian sausage which people like. Especially when I slice it up and serve it with a grey poupon recipe. You might like that. Marcey

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

