Vegan Barbecue Ribz

Posted on Updated on

Barbecue Seitan Ribs

Jim was a never a big barbecue rib type of guy.  He didn’t like gnawing bones.  He felt that he was always getting the gristle and fat.  And it was too greasy for him.  It was me that liked the ribs.

 

After going vegetarian, I kind of missed them.  Boca has a product called riblets.  They were a pretty good proximation of ribs.  They reminded of the riblet sandwich you would get at McDonalds.  However, they were pretty expensive.  And I missed the caramelization of the barbecue sauce.

 

I saw a recipe on http://www.everydaydish.tv for Susan’s ribz.  It was something that Julie Hasson posted there.  I tried the recipe and was hooked.  I made it and put in in a roll and Jim loved it!  So every now and then, especially for summer holidays, I get my ribs!  The recipe is below, but I am linking to Julie Hasson’s website.  She has wonderful dishes there!

 

Barbecued Seitan Ribz

 

Ingredients
 

1 cup vital wheat gluten
2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
2 teaspoons smoked Spanish paprika
2 teaspoons onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
3/4 cup water
2 tablespoons tahini or other nut butter
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon Liquid Smoke
about 1 cup of your favorite barbecue sauce

 

Preheat the oven to 350 and lightly spray an 8×8 baking dish with canola oil. Mix the first 5 ingredients together in a large bowl. Mix the water with the nut butter, Liquid Smoke, and soy sauce and add it to the dry ingredients. Stir to mix well and then knead lightly in the bowl for 15-60 seconds (the less you knead it, the more tender it will be; the longer, the chewier.)

 

Put the dough into the baking dish and flatten it so that it evenly fills the pan. Take a sharp knife and cut it into 8 strips; then turn the pan and cut those strips in half to form 16 pieces.

 

Before Baking!
 
Seitan Ribs
 

Put it in the oven and bake for 25 minutes.

 

Out of The Oven!
 
Seitan Ribs
 

Remove it from the oven and carefully re-cut each strip, going over each cut to make sure that the ribz will pull apart easily later. Generously brush the top with barbecue sauce.  I have a little stove top griddle that I invert the seitan on.  I cook it at medium heat.  Turning every few minutes.  I add sauce as needed.  I like to see a nicely caramelized crust.  So good.  They are even better the next day!

 

And I made barbecued ribz sandwiches that night!
 
Vegan Barbecued Ribs Sandwich

By the way, I found out who Susan was of Susan’s Ribz.  It’s Susan Voisin of Fat Free Vegan.  She has a red beans and rice dish to die for.  I have made it many times.  Please check her out!

 

Enjoy!
 
Marcey

3 thoughts on “Vegan Barbecue Ribz

    purpleslobinrecovery said:
    September 11, 2015 at 12:22 am

    Marcey, so cool that you make your own dishes, to make up for the ones you miss!
    Melinda

    Liked by 1 person

    DeniseBalog said:
    September 11, 2015 at 12:53 am

    Marcey, I am amazed with each of your recipes! I believe you are actually making your own meat now! Love how you display these dishes…Thank you for sharing! your neighbor, denise

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

