Tomato Basil Cream Sauce

Posted on

Tomato Basil Cream SauceSaturday was just one of those days.  Both Jim and I were rushed.  Jim finishing up work work that he didn’t finish during the week.  I having a meeting that I needed to be at.  Neither of us remembered to go shopping for the weekend.  Eek!   There is no way that I would let us starve.  So as Hercule Poirot use to say  “It is time to use the little gray cells!”  I have a perpetual pantry.  Items that I can take 3 or 4 of them to make a great entree.  I never have to worry about feeding us. 

 

However, Jim had been talking about clearing out the refrigerator.  He was worried that we were going to have green things growing in the back sooner or later.  So I decided to get a little creative.  And I went looking for the oldest ingredient there.  It turned out that I had two open cans of tomato paste in the very back.  No mold yet.  I decided to make a Tomatoe Basil Cream sauce for pasta.  We haven’t had that in a while.

 

I have fresh basil and oregano from the garden.  Yummy.  I don’t use cream, but I did have 2% milk.  I always use grated Parmesan cheese with the milk.  It makes the sauce thick and creamy without needing to create a roue.  It’s also lower calorie.

 

Tomato Basil Cream SauceIngredients

 

  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 small diced onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 4 ounces of tomato sauce with 1/2 cup of water to thin out
  • 2 tablespoons of chopped basil
  • 1 tablespoon of chopped oregano
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar, I used more sugar, because of the tomato paste
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • as much fresh pepper as you like
    1/4 cup of wine, I had an almost empty bottle of wine
  • 1/2 cup of milk(I used 2%)
  • 1 tablespoon of margarine
     

 

 

Directions

 

In a saucepan, saute onion and garlic in olive oil over medium heat. Make sure it doesn’t burn. Add tomatoes, basil, sugar, oregano, salt and pepper.

 

Tomato Basil Cream SauceBring to boil and continue to boil 5 minutes or until most of the liquid evaporates.  Remove from heat; stir in whipping cream and butter. Reduce heat and simmer 5 more minutes.

While you are cooking the sauce, put water on to boil for the pasta.  Use whatever pasta you like.  It can be spaghetti or penne.  Anything seems to work with this.   Cook the pasta until it’s al dente.  Drain.  Top with cheese and serve with a roll or bread.  A super easy dinner that I hope you will like!

Enjoy!

Marcey

3 thoughts on “Tomato Basil Cream Sauce

    Lynz Real Cooking said:
    September 28, 2015 at 10:07 pm

    Thanks marcey!

    Liked by 3 people

    Howto$tuffYourPig said:
    September 28, 2015 at 10:33 pm

    Love tomato sauce and this creamy tomato sauce looks so yummy. Basil brings out the best flavor in sauce!

    Liked by 2 people

    DeniseBalog said:
    September 29, 2015 at 1:46 am

    Now you are talking my language!! Italian!! Love it Marcey:) d

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

