The Best Mushroom Soup Evah!

Posted on Updated on

Mushroom SoupYesterday I went looking for a soup recipe.  I decided that I really wanted something with mushrooms.  I came across Chef Johnny’s Creamy Mushroom Soup.  There was this blurb:

“This is one of my favorite soups of all time. It is so easy. The secret to this deep, rich soup is a long slow caramelization, the key to unlocking the mushroom’s magic. This is just pure essence of mushroom.”

I thought that this sounds good and made it.  All I can say is that this is one of the best mushroom soups I have ever had.  Progresso and Campbell’s eat you heart out!

DSC02663Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
    2 pounds sliced fresh mushrooms(I used portabello for a richer flavor)
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1 yellow onion, diced
    1 1/2 tablespoon flour
    
6 sprigs fresh thyme
    2 cloves garlic, peeled
    4 cups chicken broth
    1 cup water
    1 cup heavy whipping cream
    1 pinch salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
    1 teaspoon fresh thyme for garnish if you have it(I didn’t).

Directions

Melt butter in a large soup pot(make sure you use a large pot or it will take forever to cook!) over medium-high heat; cook mushrooms in butter with 1 pinch salt until the mushrooms give off their juices; reduce heat to low. Continue to cook, stirring often, until juices evaporate and the mushrooms are golden brown, about 15 minutes. Set aside a few attractive mushroom slices for garnish later, if desired. Mix onion into mushrooms and cook until onion is soft and translucent, about 5 more minutes.  This is how the mushrooms should look before you add the other ingredients.

Mushroom Soup

Stir flour into mushroom mixture and cook, stirring often, for 2 minutes to remove raw flour taste. Add to mushroom mixture the garlic cloves and the thyme.  Pour chicken stock and water into mushroom mixture. Bring to a simmer and cook for 1 hour. Remove thyme bundle.

Transfer soup to a blender in small batches and puree on high speed until smooth and thick.  I of course use my immersible blender.  You can cream the soup right in the pot.  This lessens the risk of spilling hot soup on you.

Return soup to pot and stir in cream. Season with salt and black pepper.  If the mixture seems too thick, you can thin it out with water.   Serve in bowls garnished with the mushroom slices that you saved.

 

Here is a link to Chef Johnny.  He has other great recipes!

Chef Johnny’s Recipes
 

Enjoy!

Marcey

4 thoughts on “The Best Mushroom Soup Evah!

    DeniseBalog said:
    October 1, 2015 at 2:24 am

    Marcey, now you know “heavy whipping cream” is right up my husband’s alley:) We love cream of mushroom soup…never tried before…cool front coming…this family is ready for soup!! Thank you, again, for the awesome dinner idea:) blessings, d

    Like

      mkcasey80 responded:
      October 3, 2015 at 11:39 pm

      I am going to do Sweet Potato Chipotle bisque next week. It’s getting cool here too. In the 60s at night. Great sleeping weather. Marcey

      Liked by 1 person

        DeniseBalog said:
        October 3, 2015 at 11:55 pm

        Sounds wonderful! I have been crazy looking for the coffee cake recipe! I had my changes and everything. Wanted to make one today because it was so nice and cool. Can’t wait to see yours:)

        Like

        DeniseBalog said:
        October 4, 2015 at 1:16 am

        Yes, we are having cool nights too:) I went looking for my Coffee cake recipe and could not find! I wanted to make this morning to celebrate! I know it is right where I put from making notes… That was before the weather got hot a life time ago:) Looking forward to your upcoming bisque:)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

