Pumpkin Shortage & How To Roast A Sugar Pumpkin For Your Thanksgiving Pie!

Posted on Updated on

Roasting Pie Pumpkins         

Usually I don’t even start thinking about pumpkin pie or bread until almost Thanksgiving.  A friend of my had a request of me.  She has some friends who are getting married on Halloween and she is catering the dinner.  She wanted to serve pumpkin muffins at the meal.  How appropriate!

Roasting Pie PumpkinsI started looking for recipes.  I found a couple of great ones to try.  While I was looking for the recipes I found out that there is a big pumpkin shortage.  OMG!   The Great Pumpkin Shortage!

We will have our pumpkins for carving on Halloween.  No canned pumpkin for Thanksgiving pie.  And we love pumpkin pie in the Casey house!  So I am doing the only thing that makes any sense.

Lets roast some pumpkins!

I had picked up a couple small sugar pumpkins last week. The news of the pumpkin really got me moving.  LOL!  The pumpkins were about 2 pounds each.  I wanted  roast a couple pumpkins together to save time and to have enough to freeze.  And I would go for the pie pumpkins rather the ones you get to carve.  The taste is OH SO MUCH BETTER!

Preheat the oven to 350F

You are going to want to make sure you have a sharp knife.  It’s not only easier to prepare the pumpkin, it’s also safer.  Less chance of your knife slipping and cutting you!

First thing is to slice the stem off.  It makes it a lot easier to slice the pumpkin in half.  That stem is pretty tough!

Roasting Pie Pumpkins

Now you can slice the pumpkins in half.

Roasting Pie Pumpkins

You want to take a big metal spoon and scoop out the seeds and the fibrous strands.  Don’t worry if you don’t get all the strands out.  They tend to shrivel when you are baking them.   

Roasting Pie Pumpkins

Make sure you save the seeds!  They are a wonderful freebie that you can roast.  And you can make them spicy or sweet.  I will be doing some recipes with this later in the week!

Roasting Pie Pumpkins

I take a paper towel and brush insides with oil.  I line an cookie sheet with aluminum foil.  Coat with cooking spray.  Then I place  the pumpkin face down on the baking sheet. l was able fit both my pumpkins on the sheet.  Yeah!

Roasting Pie Pumpkins

Roast the pumpkins for about 45-50 minutes. The skin will be slightly darker and you should be able to poke a fork quite easily through.

Roasting Pie Pumpkins

Let the pumpkins cool for about 10 minutes or until you can comfortably handle them. Now you can peel away the skin. It comes off comes off super easily!  

I like to make a puree.  That way it is ready when I am ready.  I place the pumpkin flesh into my food processor and hit the button.  I pulse until it is smooth.  You can use a blender, but it turns out better for me with the food processor.  

Roasting Pie Pumpkins

Now you are ready to go.  You can start using it in your favorite recipe.  I made the muffins.  I am going freeze the rest of it in batches of 1/2 cup.  I got 5 cups of pumpkin puree.  I  am ready to go for Thanksgiving or Sunday breakfast!  

Enjoy!

Marcey

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Shortage & How To Roast A Sugar Pumpkin For Your Thanksgiving Pie!

    Lynz Real Cooking said:
    October 16, 2015 at 12:03 am

    nice post! wow married on Halloween! fun

    Like

    amanda said:
    October 16, 2015 at 1:12 am

    Roasting pumpkins is definitely on my to do list! Can’t miss out on pumpkin pie!

    Like

      mkcasey80 responded:
      October 16, 2015 at 1:29 am

      I will be posting a couple of pumpkin muffin recipes that I made this week. They are really good!

      Marcey

      Liked by 2 people

    Chika Gujarathi said:
    October 16, 2015 at 3:45 am

    I read about a salad dressing using pumpkin puree over at The Love Bungalow…worth checking out!

    Like

    sewloveable said:
    October 16, 2015 at 3:01 pm

    Thank you for sharing this!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

