Happy Thanksgiving To The Blog World

Posted on Updated on

A Norman Rockwell Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving

From The Casey Family!

 

I want to share one of my favorite Thanksgiving traditions.  Watching The WKRP Video Clip “Turkey Drop”.  One of the funniest scenes I have ever seen.  I can’t stop laughing!

 

 

And here memories of Irish Thanksgivings!

 

A Bronx Irish Thanksgiving in days gone by

It is right after World War II. Boundless optimism sweeps across America – the undisputed leader of the world. Our family attends the 9 o’clock Mass at Sacred Heart Church in the Highbridge section of the Bronx.

It is Thanksgiving morning.

“I’m telling you,” my mother declares when we return home, “When your father sailed to New York from County Sligo in 1928 at age 22, and I landed here from Leitrim a year before him at age 16 all by myself, we had no idea about Pilgrims or Indians, turkeys or chestnuts.” Mom bends down smudging charcoal on my face and on my older brother Johnny’s cheeks. “Here,” she says, “this will make you look like ragamuffins. Put on these old patched pants and Daddy’s old fedora. Push up the rim, bend it sideways like a vagabond.” She stands back, surveying us, making sure we look like street urchins. “Off you go now and be back before the company arrives.”

 

Enjoy!

Marcey

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving To The Blog World

    mopana said:
    November 26, 2015 at 10:38 am

    There’s nothing like the smell of freshly baked cookies right out of the oven

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

