12 Dishes You Can Make With A Waffle Iron!

Posted on Updated on

What can you make in a waffle iron?How many of you have a waffle maker?  I do.  And I love homemade waffles.  Especially the sourdough waffles I make.  And my Buttermilk cinnamon are out of this world! 
The problem is that I only do this occasionally for Sunday breakfast.  The rest of the time, the waffle maker is stuck in the cabinet gathering dust.  And I hate that.  That is why when I saw this article on dishes you can make with a waffle maker, my eyes perked up.  As I read on, I kept on saying ‘duh’, why didn’t I think of that?

Some of the ideas were waffled brownie sundae.  A waffled falafel.  How about waffled chorizo-cheese quesadilla, though in my case, it would be soyrizo!  Hash browns look easy and be great as a side dish.  Finally, my absolute favorite is the grilled cheese sandwiches.  I will add a little soy bacon to this one.  Here is the recipe!

 

Waffled Tomato-Grilled Cheese

 

Waffled grilled cheese sandwich

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients

4 plum tomatoes, halved lengthwise
Olive oil, for drizzling
Kosher salt
8 slices country white bread
Melted unsalted butter, for brushing
1/4 cup mayonnaise
12 slices cheese, such as Cheddar, Swiss, Muenster or a combination

Directions

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. Arrange the tomatoes on a baking sheet cut-side down. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Slow-roast until the tomatoes are soft and wrinkled, about 1 hour. Set aside to cool. (The tomatoes can be made and refrigerated up to 1 day ahead.)

Preheat a waffle iron to medium-high. Brush one side of each bread slice with melted butter. Lay the bread out on a clean work surface, dry-side up. Spread each slice of bread with some of the mayonnaise. Top 4 bread slices with 2 tomato halves, slightly smashing them into the bread. Top with 3 cheese slices each and the remaining bread slices.

Place two sandwiches at a time in the waffle iron and gently close the lid (don’t press down). Cook until the cheese is melted and the sandwiches are golden-brown, 6 to 10 minutes. Repeat with the remaining sandwiches. Cut in half and serve.

From Food Network Kitchens

Check out the recipe!

Enjoy!
Marcey
3 thoughts on “12 Dishes You Can Make With A Waffle Iron!

    Lynz Real Cooking said:
    December 1, 2015 at 5:04 pm

    Cool

    Like

    Cher|cherthatdish said:
    December 1, 2015 at 6:20 pm

    I want a waffle maker but I’m afraid it’s gonna be chilling with dust balls most of the time… But I love how I’m seeing a lot of creative ways to use them now! Guess the waffle maker is calling my name :p

    Liked by 1 person

    DeniseBalog said:
    December 1, 2015 at 9:12 pm

    We have a waffle maker Marcey! And yes, Sunday seems to be the day! Potatoes!! Have to check this out! Never thought about using for other recipes, well maybe there was that grilled, Ruben sandwich, but it just didn’t seem right! Lol Duh! Now I am thinking of a quick dinner after work on a Monday! Don’t even have to put the iron away!! Whooohooo! Thank you for sharing this one!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

