-

6 And More Appetizers For Christmas!

Posted on Updated on

 

When you start out as a beginner vegetarian, parties are really hard.  Especially, if you are trying to do it in a healthy way.  You don’t know how many times I have gone to a party and there really wasn’t anything that I could eat.  Maybe a salad, but not too often.

 

People would find out that I was a vegetarian and they would look for something for me to eat.  A lot of times I would get an offer of fried chicken(I am in the South).  Or someone would find some shrimp.  And I would explain that a vegetarian diet didn’t include either of those.  They were shocked.  They thought being vegetarian meant not eating beef or chicken. 

 

I did learn to start bringing something that I could eat.  Something that I thought everyone would like.  It worked.  So nowadays, I try to find new and different party recipes.  I ran across this Oprah article.  There are a lot of vegetarian appetizers in it.  Yeah!  So I wanted to share the ones that really piqued my interest!  Here you go!

 

 

Figs stuffed with gorgonzola and walnuts
                                  Photo: Ben Fink
Figs Stuffed with Gorgonzola and Walnuts
People think fresh figs are elegant—and this preparation definitely is. To be honest, figs are not my favorite fruit, but when I make them this way I really love ’em. They are a quick and easy piccolino. Cut ’em, stuff ’em, and roast ’em until everything melts and gets all toasty—it’s sooooo easy!
Cantaloupe Balls

                                    Photo: Matt and Ted Lee

This Southern appetizer mixes the bright flavors of cantaloupe and mint with a little hit of black pepper.
Orange and Fennel Marinated Olives

                                    Photo: John Kernic

Acclaimed chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten tempers olives’ saltiness with the anise aroma of fennel, the sweetness of orange and a little heat.
Feta dip

                                    Photo: Thinkstock

Rachael Ray blends feta and walnuts to create a creamy dip. Serve with store-bought pita chips and sliced cucumbers.

Crostini with wild mushrooms

                                    Photo: Thinkstock

While the garlic, mushrooms and wine are cooking on the stove, you can bake the slices of cheese-topped bread. Less than 10 minutes later, top the crostini with the mushroom mixture.
Goat Cheese and Sun-Dried Tomato Crostini

                                        Photo: Colin Erricson

You can make this simple, elegant hors d’oeuvre in the mini bowl of your food processor or a mini chopper—or just mince the sun-dried tomatoes and chives by hand and then mash them in a bowl with the cheese and oil.
Enjoy!
Marcey
Leave a Reply

Blog

Jennifer Balcombe - Photography

Bubs' Kitchen

It's all about food and fun.

wingingitbygrace

Sometimes I feel like I am just WINGING IT, but then I remember... I can do this, by GRACE.

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

The Angry Staff Officer

Peddling history, alcohol, defense, and sometimes all three at once

