12 tips for avoiding weight gain over the holidays

Posted on Updated on

littleweight

 

I hope you all are enjoying the holidays.  Everyone is bustling.  Decorating our homes for Christmas and Hanukkah.  Going to special religious services.

 

Dickens on the Strand in Galveston, Texas
Dickens on the Strand in Galveston, Texas

One of the things that I love about living on the island, we have lots of things going on. Especially around holiday times.  We just finished up our Dickens Festival.  We have have The Festival of Lights and Moody Gardens.  And you can also see Ice Island when you are at there. 

 

And the parties!  I looked at my calendar and saw that I have at least 7 parties or brunches in the next 2 weeks!  Yikes!  In the past,  I would always gain at least 5 lbs.  I am a petite person, so that’s a lot for me.  I have a goal to not to gain that this year!    This is an article that popped into my email box the other day.  I wanted to share it with you.  Here are my three favorite tips!

Go clean

All those fried “picks” and “bites” add up faster than you can rip open any gift.

Four pieces of a spinach and cheese puff pastry will cost you about 260 calories and 17 grams fat. A “clean” serving of the beautiful veggieplattercrudite platter? It’s only 15 to 20 calories!

You’ll save calories but also the fiber and water volume found in crudite or salad before a meal can lead to reduced hunger going into a meal. If you are the one planning the soiree, pair that crudite platter with a healthy dip. Make it a rule this year that you will skip all fried apps.

 

Wake Up and Get your Exercise On

mountain-biking-with-the-family-was-a-blast-park-city-united-states+1152_12840564994-tpfil02aw-24816Research shows that women who worked out in the morning not only moved more the rest of the day, but they also responded less to pictures of tempting food in comparison to the days that they have a morning workout. Also, research from the National Weight Control Registry shows that people who have lost weight– and kept it off–regularly exercise about one hour a day. Schedule it in! Don’t say, “I’ll get back to that in January.” How are you sweating today?

 

Feast on good company

friendseatingI always encourage my clients to make their guests the focus of the day, rather than the food.

For real this time, be in the moment. Laugh. Really listen to your cousin’s story about his recent trip. Ask your grandma about what the holidays were like 50 years ago.

Make eye contact, connect and engage with every person who is special to you in the room and make sure that you leave the event full of love, rather than cheese puffs.

You don’t have to treat each festive meal like your last supper to be satisfied, nourished and full of holiday joy.

The 12 tips!

Hope this helps!

Marcey

3 thoughts on “12 tips for avoiding weight gain over the holidays

    Lynz Real Cooking said:
    December 8, 2015 at 7:22 pm

    great tips!

    Like

    susanpbaker said:
    December 9, 2015 at 7:40 am

    Reblogged this on Susan P. Baker's Blog & Website and commented:
    This is a good reminder. I already put it on over the last holiday–trip to NYC with my daughter, Thanksgiving with the family, and a week long cruise. I’ll do better over December. If you have a food plan for good health, like I do, tape it to your refrigerator and look at it often.

    Like

    susanpbaker said:
    December 9, 2015 at 7:42 am

    Thanks for the reminder. I managed really well all year but when I went back to Galveston for the Thanksgiving holiday + time with family before and after, I let myself and my health go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

