Our Vegetarian Christmas Dinner

Posted on Updated on

DSC03289.jpg

Above is an ice sculpture from Ice Land on the Island.  It’s the coldest place here.  Beautiful sculptures!

Christmas is nearly here and I am sitting here planning what Jim and I are going to do to celebrate it.  I feel like we have been on a holiday tear since Thanksgiving.  Jim agrees with me that it is going to be just the two of us.

We are going to start the day off with Mass.  Then come home for breakfast.  That’s going to be a loaf of freshly baked French bread, smothered in Irish butter and jam.  We will have grapefruit from the tree in our yard.  Apple and cranberry compote.  And of course our traditional Mimosas.  One of my favorite breakfasts!

 

After breakfast, we will open presents.  Listen to Christmas carols while drinking coffee.  Normally, we would have a log in the fireplace.  However, we are having unseasonably warm weather.  Christmas is supposed to be in the 70s and likely sunny.  If that happens, we will go biking around the island.  We might even take the ferry to Bolivar.  It’s so beautiful and often we get to see our dolphin friends.

 

By the time we get home, it’ll be time for dinner.  Here is this year’s menu!

 

Hazelnut

HAZELNUT CRANBERRY ROAST EN CROUTE(photo above)

A rich, hazelnut-infused vegetarian grain meat stuffed with Field Roast sausages, crystallized ginger, cranberries and apples – wrapped in a savory vegan puff pastry.

 

Salad

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Mushroom Gravy

Buttermilk or Key Lime Pie

We will have a nice Merlot wine with that.  Doesn’t that sound good.  I am sorry that I don’t have photos, but I will be posting the recipes tomorrow.

 

Needless to say.  We will be dosing off early after this kind of day.

 

Enjoy!

 

Marcey

2 thoughts on “Our Vegetarian Christmas Dinner

    DeniseBalog said:
    December 22, 2015 at 7:11 pm

    Thank you for sharing your Christmas day Marcey. It sounds and looks wonderful from here. Yes, it is a “warm” Christmas this year, and I guess that makes the colder with snow so special! If it happened all the time, we’d be living up north and not in the south. Warm breezes are find by me. Merry Christmas:) denise

    Like

    DeniseBalog said:
    December 22, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    Hey Marcey! I love the picture of you and your husband on your “About” page! Whet looking for a place to contact you. Wanted to let you know, I posted, free-hand no less!, my traditional Christmas Sticky Bun recipe in honor of you! Your blog “link” is on both my “tag” and in the post itself. I am still not sure where all this stuff is suppose to go!! Just wanted to let you know, and say Merry Christmas friend and neighbor, you have been such an encouragement to me as I have made my way through this thing we call blogging! God bless Marcey!! denise

    Like

Leave a Reply

