3 Fast & Easy Christmas Side Dishes and More!

Posted on Updated on

Hazelnut

 

I just wanted to post the recipes of the sides and dessert that I am serving for Christmas dinner.  I hope you will make one or two of them.  And enjoy them as much as we do!

 

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Growing up, I had never been a fan of mashed potatoes.  They always seemed bland and stringy.  Except for the times that they bland and lumpy.  And by the time we sat down to eat, they would be cold.  Yuck!

My mom and I constantly had fights over whether I would eat them or not.  The last time we had this fight, she told me that I would have to sit at the table until I ate them.  Well, around midnight she came and told me to go to bed.  Yes, I was a pretty stubborn kid.  LOL!

For years, I would always pass up the mashed potatoes.  Then Jim and I went to Joe’s Crab Shack.  Jim got these mashed potatoes as a side.  They looked a lot different from what I was used to.  For one thing, they were cooked and mashed with their skins on.  And they had garlic and cheese in them.  Sooo good!  So when I got home, I replicated the recipe and here is how I make my mashed potatoes!

Ingredients

 

2 pounds unpeeled red potatoes, quartered
6 whole cloves of garlic, peeled
2 Tbsp. margarine or butter, softened
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
1/2 tsp of salt or to taste
1 Tbsp. chopped fresh oregano or 1/2 tsp dried.

Directions

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add potatoes, and garlic, and cook until tender but still firm, about 30 minutes; drain. Stir in butter, cheese, salt, and oregano. Mash with a immersible blender or with an electric mixer.

Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients

4 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1 1/2-inch-thick rounds
3 tablespoons olive oil
4 large garlic cloves, peeled
1/4 cup fresh rosemary leaves
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

Directions

Preheat oven to 450°F. In large mixing bowl, combine all ingredients and toss. Arrange potato slices in single layer on heavyweight rimmed baking sheet or in 13×9-inch baking dish. Place on top rack of oven and roast until tender and slightly browned, about 40 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.  Please don’t leave out the red pepper flakes.  The sweetness of the potato with the heat of the pepper is incredible!

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

I have always been able to get Jim to eat anything.  One of the few exceptions were Brussel Sprouts.  He hated the sulphur taste of them.  I don’t know how I found out that by roasting Brussel Sprouts, you can get rid of that taste.  Now Jim will actually include Brussel Sprouts when he is doing the menu planning.

Ingredients

1 1/2 pounds Brussels sprouts
3 tablespoons good olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Cut off the brown ends of the Brussels sprouts and pull off any yellow outer leaves. Mix them in a bowl with the olive oil, salt and pepper. Pour them on a sheet pan and roast for 35 to 40 minutes, until crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. Shake the pan from time to time to brown the sprouts evenly.

And here are the links to the other recipes that I have posted in the past.

Mushroom Gravy

Biscuits & Gravy

Buttermilk Pie

 

Buttermilk Pie

 

Enjoy!

Marcey

Leave a Reply

