New Year’s Day Resolutions?

Posted on Updated on

loveyourself

I want to wish everyone a happy 2016! 

 

2015 was a better than 2014.  Many new and wonderful things happened for me.  I started this blog.  Everyday I learn something new.  I have met a number of individuals through blogging that I now consider friends. 

 

I have a wonderful husband.  Jim is so kind and generous.  He is my biggest cheerleader.  Everything I have done, I have done, because he was there to have my back.  How much more can you ask for?

We ended 2015 the same way we have for the last decade.  Very quietly.  Jim has a saying for this time of year.  “New Years Eve is for amateurs.”  Meaning that there are a lot of people out there who are partying and not watching what they are drinking.  We decided that we did not want to share the streets with these amateurs.  So we had a quiet dinner and toasted each other at midnight.

Generally, we are out biking on New Years Day.  However, it is pretty darn cold and raining.  So we stayed in today.  I hope the weather is better tomorrow!

I have spent the day surfing the web.  I have noticed that there are a lot of articles out there today on New Years resolutions.  I am not big on NYD resolutions.  My thought is why do you need one day each year to have resolutions.  If you see something you want to do, just do it!  If I need to lose weight, I don’t wait to do it.  I just get started.  I started this blog in May.  I have had a ton of fun with it.!

All I am saying, when there is something you want or need, do it now.  Don’t wait to do what you need or want.  That is what I want to share this newsletter from Cheryl Richardson.  She is the life coach who wrote the book The Art of Extreme Self-Care.  A wonderful book!

 

Here is the question she asks herself every year:

 

What if the only resolution you made is to love yourself more?

 

This idea cuts right to the heart of everything I teach (and study myself). And this week, I plan to use this year-end down time to explore what it means to love myself more in 2016.
 

 

I’m considering questions like…

What needs have to be met in order for me to become an upgraded version of myself?

What story (or stories) do I need to stop telling myself?

Who do I need to forgive once and for all?

What do I need to release from my life in order to feel free?

What behaviors or habits would I like to change?

And here is more of her newsletter on loving one’s self.

And why do I believe this is important?

“Being brave enough to be alone frees you up to invite people into your life because you want them and not because you need them.”
Mandy Hale

 

I truly believe that we can only control ourselves.  And that the biggest blessing we can give other people is someone who is happy with life.  Our life.  We are in this world for such a short time, shouldn’t we make if pleasurable?  And how can feel good about what we are doing or who we are with if don’t like ourselves?  So I am working on learning to love myself more.

 

Happy 2016!  I hope that it is full of blessing for you all!

Here is an Irish wish for you.

 

Wishing you a rainbow
For sunlight after showers—
Miles and miles of Irish smiles
For golden happy hours—
Shamrocks at your doorway
For luck and laughter too,
And a host of friends that never ends
Each day your whole life through!

 

Marcey

 

 

Leave a Reply

