Meatless Monday’s! A Great Start To A New Year!

Posted on Updated on

meatless_monday_logo_336x180-1

 

It’s a new year and a new beginning.  Over the last couple of weeks, I have thinking about what 2016 will be bringing us.  Bringing me, especially with this blog.  It’s a vegetarian food blog.  Though I will go off on a tangent if there is an idea that intrigues me.  And that happened a lot.  This year I want to be a little more structured.

First off, I want to let you know why I went vegetarian.  When I was 46, I had my cholesterol results come back sky high.  My total cholesterol was 320.  My LDL was 198.  Bad! Bad! Bad!  This was a shock to me.  I had a relatively low fat diet for an American.  I was pretty skinny.  And I exercised. 

The problem was that I have lousy family genes.  For heart disease, it’s on my dad’s side.  He passed at age 53.  His sisters and brother didn’t live much longer.  All my brothers have had MIs(heart attacks).  I decided that I needed to do something.  So I went vegetarian.

It has given me the results that I wanted.  I haven’t had the illnesses that are so prevalent in my family(diabetes and high blood pressure are two others).  I am on a very low dose of a statin drug.  And I feel pretty good physically.

IlovevegDo I miss meat?  Nah!  I love vegetarian cuisine.  I think that it is much more flavorful.  I have never been much on fried foods, though you have recipes for them that are vegetarian.  The presentation of vegetarian is so much better.  The color of food really appeals to me.  I feel like I have a lot more latitude in what I can do with meals.  My husband Jim loves what I make.  So, I admit it.  I am a veg head.

And the great thing is that vegetarianism is much more acceptable than it was.  You can buy more products in stores that are vegetarian.  Restaurants are more flexible and will work with you to give you what appeals to you.  I am actually seeing cooking classes for vegetarians.  How cool is that.

And I am sure that you all are aware of Meatless Mondays.  This has been around for about 16 years.

Meatless Monday was revived in 2003 by former ad man turned health advocate Sid Lerner, in association with the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health’s Center for a Livable Future. Reintroduced as a public health awareness campaign, Meatless Monday addresses the prevalence of preventable illnesses associated with excessive meat consumption. With the average American eating as much as 75 more pounds of meat each year than in generations past, our message of “one day a week, cut out meat” is a way for individuals to do something good for themselves and for the planet.

Meatless Monday is not a new idea. During World War I, the U.S. Food Administration urged families to reduce consumption of key staples to aid the war effort. “Food Will Win the War,” the government proclaimed, and “Meatless Monday” and “Wheatless Wednesday” were introduced to encourage Americans to do their part. The effect was overwhelming; more than 13 million families signed a pledge to observe the national meatless and wheatless conservation days.1

The campaign returned during World War II when President Franklin D. Roosevelt relaunched it to help that war’s efforts on the home front. In the immediate post-war years, President Harry S. Truman continued the campaign to help feed war-ravaged Europe.

Grow-Your-Own-1945posterHere’s more history:

 

And there are good reasons to go meatless.  I especially like this one:

Live Longer—Evidence suggests that eating a diet rich in fruits and vegetables, and a limited amount of red meat can increase longevity, whereas red and processed meat consumption is associated with increases in deaths due to cancer and cardiovascular disease.[10]

More reasons to go meatless:

 

engine2I am seeing more people go vegetarian.  Especially younger people.  Even in cow country(Texas), you will see vegetarians.  Even Real Men Grill Veggies in Austin!

 

I am going to explore what is happening with the Meatless Monday movement and share it with you on Mondays.  Of course!

 

I hope you enjoy it!

Marcey

One thought on “Meatless Monday’s! A Great Start To A New Year!

    bernadettesvintagerose said:
    January 4, 2016 at 5:24 pm

    Ah Marcey, I’m back, missed seeing your lovely pics of delicious meals.

    Like

Leave a Reply

