Some Valentine Limericks!

Posted on Updated on

irishvd

 

I hope you all have had a great Valentine’s Day.  That you spent today with someone special.  It could be your husband.  Parents.  Or that special friend that you have known forever.  Who is there for you no matter what.

allthewayJim and I celebrated Valentine’s Day yesterday by going to the play “All The Way!”  You have got to go and see it if it comes near you.  It’s about President Lyndon Johnson.  What was so great about it was how it was staged.

Afterwards we went to dinner at Baba Yegas in the Montrose area in Houston.  A wonderful restaurant!  One of the most vegetarian/vegan baba yega frontfriendly restaurants I have been to.  I always find something ON the menu that I can eat.  Last night it was roasted artichokes.  I will be posting on that later.

 

For today, I want to wrap up Valentine’s Day with some limericks.  I am not much with poetry.  I like the extremely romantic poems.  Then I like limericks.  Limericks are funny.  I like that things actually rhyme.  Limericks are recent inventions in the scheme of things.  It came  from social gatherings where a group sang “Will you come up to Limerick?” after each set of limericks spoken and then the members of the party had to make up their own limericks.

Jim likens limericks to the Japanese Haiku.  Or if you want to compare it to our present day,   rap.   Rap is much more free form however.  Limericks are big in our family.  We have a shelf of books.  Some of the limericks would make you blush!   So here you go! 


They say there’s a servant to Cupid,
Whose duty it is to keep track
cupidMark-Roberts-Luck-of-the-Irish-Fairy-Small-11Of the number of kisses
That misters and misses
Are giving each other, ker-smack

I know a sweet girl who’s called Maud,
Of her papa I’m very much awed.
I’d ask his consent,
But I think if I went
He’d kick till I hollered “Oh, Lawd!”

His name was Willie Wood,
Her name was Susie Glue,
He pressed her to his heart and said,
“My dear, I’m stuck on you.”

The question he’d popped at a toi,
And the answer had filled him with gloi,
For the maiden so fair,
With a sweet, modest air,
Replied to him simply with “Oui.”

 

 

 

And here are some limericks for today’s poet.

I’m a computer nerd.
This is all I can say:
😡 😡 😡 😡 😡
Cuz I’m not good at romance
So show me the way!

I’ve texted,
I’ve tweeted, I’ve E-mailed 6 times.
Consider this my last request
For Us to be Valentines!

 

Enjoy!

 

Marcey

Leave a Reply

