Happy 2017 To Everyone!

Posted on Updated on

mtny2017

Hi Everyone!

It feels like I have been gone for ages.  4 months to be exact.  Last year was a crazy year.  So many things happening.  Our family has grown.  I just had to take some time off to process everything.

First off, I helped my friend Amy run for city council.  We were considered such a long shot that people said run just to get your name out there.  You can always run again in 2 or 4 years.  Guess what?  The long shot is now my city council person.  We spent from March to June getting Amy elected.  First she was in a run off.  Then she went on to beat the incumbent.

How did we do it?  Plain old retail politicking.  We got out there and knocked on doors.  Listened to people.  Getting to see old friends and neighbors.  Meeting new neighbors.  We had a blast!  And our city council is a much better council.  Amy has brought a fresh set of eyes to everything.

After that, I started working on Hillary Clinton’s campaign.  We all know how that turned out.  How can someone who won the popular vote by almost 3 million people not be our president?

Through all this, we welcomed Marcos, our foster son to our home.  He is an 18 year old who is from Honduras.  And he is here legally.  We fell in love with him the first time we met him.  Things have not been perfect.  We have had plenty ups and downs with him living with us.  Our lives are a lot less quiet these days.

My niece says that New Year’s Day is when you can hit the reset button. Everything is fresh and new. What do you think?

I have been pondering how I want my life to go for the next year.  Am I going to set resolutions?  Nah.  They don’t seem to last as long as January 31st.  Resolutions are goals of things that I want to be or do.  Something in the future.  If I don’t achieve them, I feel let down.

This year, I want to be more in the here and now.  Enjoy my life.  Live my life more purposely.  Live my life with intent.  We shall see what happens.

I hope you all are enjoying your New Year’s Day.  Be Safe!

Marcey

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Happy 2017 To Everyone!

    DeniseBalog said:
    January 1, 2017 at 10:03 pm

    Hello Marcy!! Happy New Year!! I was SO blessed to log on and see your post!! Wow, you have been busy!!! Blessings for your coming new year! It is good to see and hear from you!! Denise

    Like

      mkcasey80 responded:
      January 3, 2017 at 5:47 pm

      I have been keeping up with your posts. Last year was crazy. Some fun things. Some frustration. Challenges all around!
      marcey

      Liked by 1 person

        DeniseBalog said:
        January 3, 2017 at 6:23 pm

        Good to hear from you my friend:) Blessings in the New Year!

        Like

    Ret Cleary said:
    January 1, 2017 at 11:54 pm

    Sure do love you, Marcey. You are a blessing to many. I am proud to claim you as my forever sister.

    Liked by 1 person

      mkcasey80 responded:
      January 2, 2017 at 3:25 pm

      Thanks Ret. You are so sweet

      Like

Leave a Reply

