Sweet Potato Chiplote Bisque

Posted on Updated on

fullsizeoutput_19bf.jpeg

The last time I posted this soup, I was whining, because the weather was in the 60s and going to drop to the 50s.  Right now it is 50 degrees and going lower.  Tomorrow will be even colder.  This is our winter right now.  So what better than a bowl of Sweet Potato Chipotle Bisque?  Pure comfort food for Jim and me!

Enjoy!

Marcey

 

Jim and I have been hibernating today.  The after effects of Hurricane Patricia are still with us.  Who would have thunk that a hurricane in the Pacific would have this big an impact?  It’s been raining since early yesterday morning.  We go a lot of rain.  Not the 18 inches that had been expected.  But a good amount.  Overall, it wasn’t as bad as it could have been.  Some flash flood warnings.  If you are smart, you just stay home.

One good thing that happened was that with all the heavy winds, most of the dead fronds came off my palm trees.  Those trees is about 50 feet tall and still growing.  I had been planning on getting my tree guy to come and clean off the tree for winter.   Not now.

With the rains the temperature is dropping.  It’s about 66 now and will get a lot cooler.  Jim just told me that the wind was 37 miles per hour.  This is not our usual October weather.  It is definitely soup weather.  I pulled out my recipe for Sweet Potato Chiplote Bisque.  I have been making this soup for awhile.  I actually do it in the summer.  It is such a great soup.  I love the sweetness of the potato with the kick from the chipotle pepper. 

I originally got the recipe from Creative TV’s show ‘Vegan Mashup’.  So yes, this is all vegan.  You can use regular dairy products and it will turn out fine.  Later I found the recipe on line at The Vegan Latina.

Sweet Potato Chipotle BisqueSweet Potato Chipotle Bisque, from Viva Vegan!
Serves 4

Look for canned chipotles in adobo in Latin groceries or even your area supermarket.  I prefer chipotle salsa.  No chopping!

  • 2 Tablespoons olive or peanut oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled and minced
  • 1 large yellow onion, peeled and diced
  • ½ teaspoon ground cumin
  • ½ teaspoon dried oregano
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • ½ pound white waxy potatoes, scrubbed, peeled and diced into 1 inch chunks
  • 1 ½ pound sweet potatoes, scrubbed, peeled and diced into 1 inch chunks
  • 2 chipotles in adobo, sliced open and seeded, plus 1 to 2 teaspoons sauce (or to taste )
  • ¼ cup coconut milk, non-dairy milk or soy creamer
  • 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lime juice
  • salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

For garnish:

  • ½ cup finely chopped cilantro
  •  ½ cup plain soy or coconut yogurt

Sweet Potato Chipotle Bisque1. In a large soup pot over medium heat fry the garlic in the olive oil for 30 seconds. Add onion and sauté until onion is tender and translucent, about 5 minutes. Stir in ground cumin and oregano, then pour in water or stock. Add the chopped potatoes and sweet potatoes, cover the pot and increase the heat to high. Bring the soup to a boil, then reduce heat to gently simmer for 28-32 minutes or until both white and sweet potatoes can be easily mashed when pressed against the side of the pot with a wooden spoon. Turn off the heat.

2. Add chipotles and adobo sauce to the soup. Use an immersion blender to puree soup to a smooth, creamy consistency. If you prefer to use a blender, let the soup cool for at least 20 minutes before pouring into a blender; pulse until smooth then return to the pot. Warm the soup over low heat and stir in the coconut milk/non-dairy milk/soy creamer, lime juice, salt, and pepper. Taste and adjust seasoning with more lime juice and salt if desired. Ladle soup into serving bowls and garnish with chopped cilantro or a dollop of plain soy or coconut yogurt swirled on top of the soup.

fullsizeoutput_19bf

Enjoy!

Marcey

8 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Chiplote Bisque

    Lynz Real Cooking said:
    October 25, 2015 at 10:21 pm

    Glad to hear you are ok! nice recipe yumm

    Liked by 1 person

      mkcasey80 responded:
      October 26, 2015 at 4:17 am

      We have been really lucky the last few years. I hope you try the soup. I love it. It’s a comfort food for me. I know. Weird tastes. LOL

      Marcey

      Liked by 1 person

    koolaidmoms said:
    October 25, 2015 at 10:38 pm

    I know 66 is probably chilly for you but that made me giggle. That is shorts and cookout weather here! Glad to hear you are safe and sound.

    Like

      mkcasey80 responded:
      October 26, 2015 at 4:16 am

      Thanks! The first year I moved down here, I went without my coat a lot! As the years pass, I seem to feel the cold more. LOL!

      Marcey

      Liked by 1 person

    Heba vs Reason said:
    October 26, 2015 at 2:55 am

    Reblogged this on Heba vs Reason.

    Liked by 1 person

      mkcasey80 responded:
      October 26, 2015 at 4:15 am

      Thank you so much for reblogging. I hope you try it when it’s cold.

      Marcey

      Like

    DeniseBalog said:
    August 31, 2017 at 3:03 pm

    Marcie, I am glad to see you my friend. I was worried about you and your husband Friday night watching Hurricane Harvey. I know you live in the area. I pray you are well!! God bless you my friend!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

